CORSIA States for Chapter 3 State Pairs

Who Participates in CORSIA?
CORSIA is implemented in three phases: a pilot phase (2021-2023), a first phase (2024-2026), and a second phase (2027-2035). For the first two phases (2021-2026), participation is voluntary. From 2027 onwards, participation will be determined based on 2018 RTK data. 
As of 1 January 2023, 115 States had announced their intention to participate in CORSIA. 11 more States (Antigua and Barbuda, Bahrain, Ecuador, Kuwait, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Mauritius, Malawi, and Haiti) announced their intention to participate in CORSIA from 1 January 2024, bringing the total number of participating States to 126 (click here for the latest list of 2024 volunteer States, as approved by the ICAO Council).

Click here for a sample letter that can be used to notify ICAO of a State’s participation in CORSIA.

This ICAO CORSIA Implementation Element is reflected in the ICAO document entitled "CORSIA States for Chapter 3 State Pairs" referenced in Annex 16, Volume IV.

The 41st Session of the ICAO Assembly requested the ICAO Secretariat to make public on the ICAO website updated information on the States that volunteer to participate in CORSIA's pilot phase (2021-2023) and first phase (2024-2026) (Resolution A41-22, paragraph 9d)).

For a given year (starting in 2021), the States included in ICAO document entitled "CORSIA States for Chapter 3 State Pairs" define the State pairs subject to CO2 offsetting requirements in CORSIA in that year.

This ICAO document is updated annually. The fourth edition of this ICAO document has been approved by the ICAO Council and contains the States that participate in CORSIA from 1 January 2024.


Document Edition 
​List of Participating States for the Year:
Edition 4/ Rev. 1
Edition 3
Edition 2/ Rev. 1 
Edition 1 

Connect with us: