The ICAO Council

All 193 signatory States to the Convention on International Civil Aviation (Chicago Convention) are invited to convene for Assembly sessions at ICAO, every three years.


There they adopt resolutions, agree on ICAO's budget and work programme, and pursue diplomatic and technical consensus on current priorities, policies, and targets for international civil aviation.


The Assembly countries also elect 36 States to serve on the ICAO Council, a governing body responsible for Secretariat oversight, and for the ongoing diplomatic and technical decision making through ICAO while the Assembly is not in session.


Each elected Council State appoints a diplomatic representative to ICAO for these three year periods, and they elect a non-voting Council President to manage their work and support and guide their engagements.


The Council's duties and obligations under the convention are many, and you can read more about its functions, procedures, and history via the left-side menu links. 

    Mr. Salvatore Sciacchitano,

    President of the Council

Connect with us: