President of ICAO Air Navigation Commission re-appointed

On 28 November 2022, the ICAO Council decided by means of acclamation to re-appoint Mr. Padhraic Kelleher as President of the Air Navigation Commission (ANC) for a second one-year term, commencing on 1 January 2023.

Mr. Kelleher was first nominated for appointment by the Government of the United Kingdom, with his initial mandate beginning on 1 January 2022. He has served as an ANC Commissioner at ICAO since 2018. 

The Air Navigation Commission (ANC) considers and recommends Standards and Recommended Practices (SARPs) and Procedures for Air Navigation Services (PANS) for adoption or approval by the ICAO Council.

The Commission is composed of nineteen members who have “suitable qualifications and experience in the science and practice of aeronautics”, as outlined in the Convention on International Civil Aviation (Chicago Convention). Although ANC Commissioners are nominated by specific ICAO Member States, and appointed by the Council, they do not represent the interest of any particular State or Region. Rather they act independently and utilize their expertise in the interest of the entire international civil aviation community. Additionally, a number of persons from States and industry participate in the ANC as observers.

Connect with us: