​Opening Ceremony

Presided over by: Mr. Zakhele Thwala, Deputy Director General of Civil Aviation, Department of Transport (DOT), South Africa
  1. Welcoming remarks:
     Ethekwini Municipality: Councillor James Nxumalo
  2. Remarks by World Tourism Organization (UNWTO):
    Mr. Márcio Favilla L. de Paula, Executive Director
  3. Opening address by ICAO:
    Mr. Raymond Benjamin, Secretary General
  4. Opening address by Member of the Executive Council for Economic Development and Tourism:
    Mr. Mike Mabyuakhulu
  5. Keynote speech by the Minister of Transport, South Africa
    :Ms Dipuo Peters


ICAO Seminar on International Air Transport Policy and Liberalization

Session 1: Next steps after ICAO Sixth Air Transport Conference (ATConf/6)

Moderator: Mr. Vuwani Ndwamato, Director, Air Transport, DOT

  1. Outcome of ATConf/6 and ICAO's follow up work
    Boubacar Djibo, Director, Air Transport Bureau, ICAO
  2. Views from the African Region
    Ms. Iyabo Sosina, Secretary General, AFCAC
  3. Perspectives of the airline industry
    Mr. Chaitan Jain, Assistant Director, External Affairs, IATA



Session 2 (Panel Discussion): Fostering compatible regulatory approaches

Moderator: Mr. Levers Mabaso, Chairman of ICAO Air Transport Committee
Mr. Herbert Fung, Director (Business and Economics), Competition Commission of Singapore
Mr. Luis Giorello, International Law Advisor, National Directorate, Uruguay
Mr. Adam Remetei-Filep, Directorate General, Competition, European Commission
Mr. Amos Marawa, Director, COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite

Forum on Sustainable Development of Air Transport

Moderator: Mr. Tshepo Peege, DOT, South Africa
  1. Tourism and air transport: common issues (including visa facilitation and taxation)
    Mr. Marcio Favilla L. de Paula, Department of Tourism, UNWTO
  2. Enhancing Connectivity
    Mr. Monwabisi Kalawe, South African Airways (SAA)
  3. Promote trade and air cargo transport
    Mr. Saxen van Coller, Dube Tradeport


Moderator: Ms Poppy Khoza, Director for Civil Aviation, South Africa

  1. The Yamoussoukro Decision and the future of African air transport
    Ms. Iyabo Sosina, AFCAC
  2. Infrastructure development & funding/financing issues (including charges):
    Ms. Maureen Manyama Matame, Airports Company of South Africa (ACSA)
  3. Fostering aviation development through multilateral legal framework - The Cape Town Convention of 2001 and Montréal Convention of 1999
    Mr. Andrew Oppolot, ICAO and Ms. Chris Szegenthal, Airline Association of South Africa (AASA)




Connect with us: