

DCAS Doc No. 17 7/9/10

### INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON AIR LAW

(Beijing, 30 August – 10 September 2010)

# FINAL ACT

## FINAL ACT

#### of the International Conference on Air Law (Diplomatic Conference on Aviation Security) held under the auspices of the International Civil Aviation Organization at Beijing, China, 30 August to 10 September 2010

The Plenipotentiaries at the Diplomatic Conference on Aviation Security met at Beijing at the invitation of the Government of China from 30 August to 10 September 2010 to adopt amendments to the *Convention for the Suppression of Unlawful Acts against the Safety of Civil Aviation* (the Montreal Convention of 1971) as amended by the Protocol of 1988; and to the *Convention for the Suppression of Unlawful Seizure of Aircraft* (The Hague Convention of 1970).

The Governments of the following ...... States were represented at the Conference and presented credentials in due and proper form:

Algeria, the People's Democratic Republic of Argentine Republic, the Australia Azerbaijani Republic Belgium, the Kingdom of Botswana, the Republic of Brazil, the Federative Republic of Cameroon, the Republic of Canada Chad, the Republic of Chile, the Republic of China, the People's Republic of Costa Rica, the Republic of Cuba, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Czech Republic, the Denmark, the Kingdom of Dominican Republic, the Ecuador, the Republic of Egypt, the Arab Republic of Fiji, the Republic of Finland, the Republic of French Republic, the Gambia, the Republic of the Germany, the Federal Republic of Hellenic Republic, the India, the Republic of Indonesia, the Republic of Iran, the Islamic Republic of Israel, the State of Italian Republic, the Japan

Kenya, the Republic of Kuwait, the State of Madagascar, the Republic of Malaysia Mali, the Republic of Mexican States, the United Morocco, the Kingdom of Namibia, the Republic of Nepal, the Federal Democratic Republic of Netherlands, the Kingdom of the New Zealand Nigeria, the Federal Republic of Norway, the Kingdom of Pakistan, the Islamic Republic of Panama, the Republic of Paraguay, the Republic of Philippines, the Republic of the Poland, the Republic of Portuguese Republic, the Qatar, the State of Republic of Korea, the Romania Russian Federation, the Saudi Arabia, the Kingdom of Senegal, the Republic of Singapore, the Republic of Slovenia, the Republic of South Africa, the Republic of Spain, the Kingdom of Sudan, the Republic of the Swaziland, the Kingdom of Sweden, the Kingdom of

Swiss Confederation Thailand, the Kingdom of The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Tunisia, the Republic of Turkey, the Republic of Uganda, the Republic of United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United Republic of Tanzania, the United States of America, the Uruguay, the Eastern Republic of Venezuela, the Bolivarian Republic of Zambia, the Republic of

The following ..... international organizations were represented by Observers:

African Civil Aviation Commission (AFCAC) Arab Civil Aviation Commission (ACAC) International Air Transport Association (IATA) United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)

The Conference elected as President Mr. Xia Xinghua (China), and further elected as Vice-Presidents:

First Vice-President	Mr. Terry Olson (France)
Second Vice-President	Mr. Hisham El-Zimaity (Egypt)
Third Vice-President	Mr. Levers Mabaso (South Africa)
Fourth Vice-President	Mr. David Sproule (Canada)
Fifth Vice-President	Mr. Cesar Fernando Mayoral (Argentina)

The Secretary General of the Conference was Mr. Denys Wibaux, Director, Legal Affairs and External Relations Bureau, International Civil Aviation Organization. He was assisted by Mr. John Augustin, Deputy Director, who was the Executive Secretary, by Dr. Jiefang Huang, Legal Officer, who was the Deputy Secretary, and by Ms. Marla Weinstein, Legal Adviser, who was Assistant Secretary. Conference services were provided under the direction of Dr. Fang Liu, Director, Administration and Services Bureau, with the assistance of Ms. Lynda Déry, Chief, Conference Services, and other officials of the Organization.

The Conference established a Commission of the Whole which was chaired by Mr. Terry Olson (France) and the following Committees:

Credentials Committee

Chairman: Mr. Pierre Tankam (Cameroon)

Members: Cuba India Netherlands United Arab Emirates Drafting Committee

Chairperson: Mrs. Siew Huay Tan (Singapore)

Members: Algeria Argentina Australia Canada China Cuba Czech Republic Egypt France India Indonesia Japan Kenya Mexico Nigeria Romania **Russian Federation** Saudi Arabia Senegal Sweden United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States

> International Air Transport Association (IATA) United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)

Preambular and Final Clauses Committee

Chairperson: Mrs. Siew Huay Tan (Singapore)

Members: Algeria Australia Belgium Brazil Cameroon Canada China Egypt India Italy Mexico Nigeria Romania

#### Russian Federation United States

Following its deliberations, the Conference adopted the texts of the Convention on the Suppression of Unlawful Acts Relating to International Civil Aviation and the Protocol Supplementary to the Convention for the Suppression of Unlawful Seizure of Aircraft.

The said Convention and Protocol were opened for signature at Beijing this day by States participating in the Conference. It was also decided that after 27 September 2010 the said Convention and Protocol would be open to all States for signature at the headquarters of the International Civil Aviation Organization in Montreal.

The texts of the said Convention and Protocol are subject to verification by the Secretariat of the Conference under the authority of the President of the Conference within a period of ninety days from the date hereof as to the linguistic changes required to bring the texts in the different languages into conformity with one another.

A consolidated text of the *Convention for the Suppression of Unlawful Seizure of Aircraft* (The Hague Convention of 1970) as amended by the *Protocol Supplementary to the Convention for the Suppression of Unlawful Seizure of Aircraft* was also adopted at Beijing this day to facilitate the implementation of the rules contained in the said Convention and Protocol in a user-friendly manner. This text, established in six languages, is attached to the present Final Act.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the Delegates,

GRATEFUL to the Government of China for hosting the Conference at Beijing and for its generous hospitality,

HAVE SIGNED this Final Act,

DONE at Beijing on the tenth day of September of the year two thousand and ten in six authentic texts in the English, Arabic, Chinese, French, Russian and Spanish languages in a single copy which shall be deposited with the International Civil Aviation Organization and a certified copy of which shall be delivered by the said Organization to each of the Governments represented at the Conference.

\_\_\_\_\_

DCAS Doc No. 17 Attachment

#### ATTACHMENT

(To follow)

– END –