PROTOCOL RELATING TO AN AMENDMENT TO THE CONVENTION ON INTERNATIONAL CIVIL AVIATION ARTICLE 56, SIGNED AT MONTREAL ON 6 OCTOBER 1989

Entry into force: The Protocol entered into force on 18 April 2005.

Status: 129 parties.

State Date of deposit of instrument of ratification

Algeria 11 April 2001 25 February 2001 Andorra 4 February 2008 Angola 5 May 1994 Argentina 2 December 1994 Australia Austria 22 April 1991 Bahrain 6 May 1996 Bangladesh 26 March 1996 Barbados 1 November 2006 Belarus 24 July 1996 Benin 30 March 2004 Bhutan 26 August 2005 9 May 1997 Bosnia and Herzegovina 28 March 2001 Botswana 22 July 1992 Brazil

Brunei Darussalam 25 August 2000 10 November 2003 Bulgaria Burkina Faso 15 June 1992 Cabo Verde 23 August 2004 Cameroon 5 September 2003 14 September 1992 Canada 25 November 1993 Chile 23 July 1997 China (3)

 Chile
 25 November 1

 China (3)
 23 July 1997

 Congo
 20 March 2013

 Cook Islands
 12 April 2005

 Croatia
 6 May 1994

 Cuba
 4 August 1998

 Czech Republic
 15 April 1993

 Demogratic Poople's Popublic of Korea
 11 October 200

Democratic People's Republic of Korea11 October 2005Denmark24 September 1990Dominica (9)14 March 2019Dominican Republic30 December 2021Ecuador4 May 1990

25 July 2000 Egypt El Salvador 6 February 2006 27 May 1994 Eritrea Estonia 21 August 1992 Eswatini 28 September 2001 15 December 1999 Ethiopia 20 September 1995 Fiji Finland 11 April 1990 France 24 July 1990

 Gabon
 13 August 2003

 Gambia
 20 June 2000

 Germany
 27 November 1996

 Ghana
 15 July 1997

 Greece
 10 March 1992

 Grenada
 31 May 1991

Article 56 6 October 1989

State

Italy

Jamaica

Guatemala Hungary Iceland India Indonesia

Iran (Islamic Republic of)

Japan Jordan Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Libya Lithuania Luxembourg Madagascar Malawi Maldives Mali Malta Mauritius Mexico Monaco Mongolia

Nauru Nepal Netherlands (7) Nigeria

Montenegro (5)

Morocco Mozambique

Namibia

North Macedonia Norway Oman

Palau Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay

Peru Poland Portugal (1)(2) Qatar

Republic of Korea Romania

Russian Federation Rwanda Samoa San Marino Saudi Arabia

Date of deposit of instrument of ratification

6 August 1990

10 December 2004

State

Senegal Seychelles Singapore Slovakia Slovenia South Africa

South Sudan (6) Spain Sweden Switzerland Thailand Timor-Leste (4)

Togo
Tonga
Tunisia
Turkey
Turkmenistan
Tuvalu (8)
Uganda
Ukraine

United Arab Emirates United Republic of Tanzania United States Uruguay

Vanuatu Viet Nam Zimbabwe

Uzbekistan

Date of deposit of instrument of ratification

- (1) By a Note dated 13 September 1999 deposited with the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) on 15 September 1999, the Government of Portugal informed ICAO that, by Presidential Decree No. 185/99 dated and published on 22 August 1999, Portugal "extended . . . application to the Territory of Macao" of this Protocol.
- (2) By a Note dated 24 November 1999, the Government of Portugal advised ICAO as follows:

"In accordance with the Joint Declaration of the Government of the Portuguese Republic and the Government of the People's Republic of China on the Question of Macao signed on 13 April 1987, the Portuguese Republic will continue to have international responsibility for Macao until 19 December 1999 and from that date onwards the People's Republic of China will resume the exercise of sovereignty over Macao with effect from 20 December 1999.

From 20 December 1999 onwards the Portuguese Republic will cease to be responsible for the international rights and obligations arising from the application of the Convention [Protocol] to Macao."

- (3) By a letter dated 8 July 2005, received by ICAO on 12 July 2005, the Ambassador of the People's Republic of China in Ottawa advised of the application of this Protocol to the Macao Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China (Macao SAR). The Protocol entered into force for the Macao SAR on 12 July 2005.
- (4) Timor-Leste, by virtue of its adherence on 4 August 2005 to the *Convention on International Civil Aviation* (Chicago, 1944), became party to all Protocols of amendment of the Convention in force at the time of adherence, effective 3 September 2005, the date of entry into force of the Convention with respect to Timor-Leste.
- (5) Montenegro, by virtue of its adherence on 12 February 2007 to the *Convention on International Civil Aviation* (Chicago, 1944), became party to all Protocols of amendment of the Convention in force at the time of adherence, effective 14 March 2007, the date of entry into force of the Convention with respect to Montenegro.
- (6) South Sudan, by virtue of its adherence on 11 October 2011 to the *Convention on International Civil Aviation* (Chicago, 1944), became party to all Protocols of amendment of the Convention in force at the time of

- adherence, effective 10 November 2011, the date of entry into force of the Convention with respect to South Sudan.
- (7) By a note dated 31 August 2011, deposited on 9 September 2011, the Netherlands advised ICAO that, following a modification in the structure of the Kingdom of the Netherlands effective from 10 October 2010, this Protocol applies from 10 October 2010 to the Caribbean part of the Netherlands (the islands of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba), Curação and Sint Maarten. It applies to the European part of the Netherlands and to Aruba from 18 April 2005.
- (8) Tuvalu, by virtue of its adherence on 19 October 2017 to the *Convention on International Civil Aviation* (Chicago, 1944), became party to all Protocols of amendment of the Convention in force at the time of adherence, effective 18 November 2017, the date of entry into force of the Convention with respect to Tuvalu.
- (9) Dominica, by virtue of its adherence on 14 March 2019 to the *Convention on International Civil Aviation* (Chicago, 1944), became party to all Protocols of amendment of the Convention in force at the time of adherence, effective 13 April 2019, the date of entry into force of the Convention with respect to Dominica.