Uruguay : 30th Anniversary of ICAO


Issue date: 17/10/1977



Globe, aircraft and UN emblem.   

With watermark inverted ROU (Republica Oriental del Uruguay) within a sun. The official country name Republica Oriental del Uruguay indicates that the Republic lies east of the River Uruguay.

The article de is missing in ICAO's Spanish name, which should be written Organización de Aviación Civil Internacional.  


First Day Cover with silhouette of possibly a Douglas DC-8 or Boeing 707 aircraft on the cachet. The error in the Organization’s name is repeated on the cachet.


Other first day cover showing the Uruguayan flag on the contours of the country.


Other first day covers by EDIC. C.F.U.


This FDC shows the map of the country.


The cachet here-below reproduces Uruguay’s first Diligencia stamp and makes reference to the times when communication was carried on by means of mail coaches. More details here-below.


The postmark cancel shows UPU’s emblem and the date: 9 October 1978 (i.e. World Post Day). The cachet depicts the coat of arms on the contours of the country.



The Coat of Arms of Uruguay was first adopted by law on 19 March 1829. It consists of an oval, which is divided into four equal sections and crowned by a rising golden sun, the Sun of May, symbolizing the rising of the Uruguayan nation. The oval is surrounded by two olive branches, representing peace, joined at the bottom by a blue ribbon. In the upper left quarter, there is a scale, symbol of equality and justice, set on a blue background. The upper right quarter contains the Cerro de Montevideo (Montevideo Hill) with its fortress on the summit, which represents strength, on a silver background. In the lower left, also on a silver background, there is a galloping horse, symbolizing liberty. The lower right quarter holds an ox, which is a symbol of abundance, on a blue background.


The National Flag of Uruguay was officially adopted on 11 July 1830 and is described as follows: nine equal horizontal stripes of white (top and bottom) alternating with blue; a white square in the upper hoist-side corner with a yellow sun bearing a human face known as the Sun of May with 16 rays that alternate between triangular and wavy. dotThe Sun of May has been used as a national symbol since the 19th century. The nine blue and white stripes represent the nine departments within the country.


The first stamps issued in Uruguay were ordered by the Administrator General of Posts, Atanasio Lapido, who also happened to be in charge of the stage coach service. They could be considered as a private issue, but must have had official status. The inscription "Diligencia" means "Stage coach" and indicates the means of transporting of the mail. They were only valid for mail within Uruguay. Picturing a radiant sun, the 60-centavos blue stamp shown here was used for single-page letters. The postal services organized by the stagecoach companies started issuing stamps on 1 October 1856.