The President of the Council


According to Article 51 of the Chicago Convention, the ICAO Council is headed by a President, elected for a term of three years. Since 1945, the Provisional International Civil aviation Organization (PICAO) and the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) have had five Presidents:

1.     Dr. Edward Warner from the USA. On 15 August 1945, he was elected President of the Council of the Provisional International Civil Aviation Organization (PICAO). He served as President of the Council of PICAO and ICAO from 1945 to 1957.

2.    Mr. Walter Binaghi from Argentina. His term of office was 1957-1976.

3.    Dr. Assad Kotaite from Lebanon. Dr. Kotaite was Secretary General of ICAO from 1 August 1970 until 1 August 1976 when he became President of the Council of ICAO. His term of office as President was 1976-2006. Shortly after his retirement, Dr. Kotaite became the first-ever President Emeritus of the ICAO Council. The 40th Edward Warner Award, the highest honor in the world of civil aviation, was conferred in 2013 by the ICAO Council on Dr. Assad Kotaite, in recognition of his eminent contribution to the development of international civil aviation, most notably in the field of diplomacy and conciliation. In 2013, ICAO published Dr. Kotaite’s Memoirs under the title: “50 Years of International Diplomacy and Conciliation in Aviation”.

4.    Mr. Roberto Kobeh Gonzalez from Mexico. He was President of ICAO from 1 August 2006 until 31 December 2013. It is to be noted that Roberto Kobeh Gonzalez was honored in 2016 by a stamp issued by the Mexican Postal Service in recognition of his outstanding contribution for the benefit of national and international civil aviation. See at the following link: Mexico: Roberto Kobeh González – 50 years at the service of aviation.

5.    Dr. Olumuyiwa Benard Aliu from Nigeria. He took over the reins as ICAO Council President beginning 1 January 2014, for a three-year term.


The portraits of the past-Presidents are placed at the entrance of the ICAO Council Chamber.



1 May 1947 - Internal mail on the official letterhead paper

addressed to the ICAO Staff Association


Service cover sent from the UN located at Lake Success to Dr. Warner.

Postmarked on 24 November 1950.

Prior to the construction of the current complex in New York City, the UN was headquartered, from 1946 to 1952, in a building that during World War II had been a Sperry Gyroscope Co. plant located at Lake Success, New York, an eastern suburb of the city in Nassau County on Long Island.


Mail sent to Dr. Warner on service cover from the International Labour Office, Geneva 

Postmarked on 14 November 1954


1957 - Mr. Binaghi passes the Council Chamber gavel to his successor, Dr. Kotaite


Mail sent to Mr. Binaghi - Postmarked on 17 June 1971


Mail sent to Dr. Kotaite from the Ministry of Transport, Warsaw, Poland

Postmarked on 17 March 1994


2006 - Dr. Kotaite passes the Council Chamber gavel

to his successor, Mr. Roberto Kobeh Gonzalez


Mail sent to Mr. Roberto Kobeh Gonzalez

from the Department of Transportation and Communications (DOTC), Manila, Philippines

Postmarked on 21 November 2006 - Receiving stamp added by ICAO.


In recognition of the outstanding contribution of Ing. Roberto Kobeh Gonzalez for the benefit of national and international civil aviation, the Mexican Postal Service, Correos de México, issued on 29 November 2016 a commemorative postal stamp in which its image is appreciated at the highest level to the service of the aviation. More information on this issue can be found at: Mexico: Roberto Kobeh González – 50 years at the service of aviation.


Registered service cover sent from Azerbaijan to Dr. Aliu, President of the Council,

postmarked on 13 April 2015.

In one of his addresses, President Aliu stressed that: "Progress through consensus and collaboration is the aviation sector’s greatest strength, and will certainly be the key factor in how air transport continues to contribute to the global economic development and the promotion of peaceful relations amongst States in the decades ahead."


Portraits of the past-Presidents at the entrance of the Council Chamber.