The ICAO Secretariat


The ICAO Secretariat is headed by the Secretary General. It is divided into five main divisions: Air Navigation Bureau, Air Transport Bureau, Legal Affairs and External Relations Bureau, Technical Co-operation Bureau, Administration and Services Bureau.


In order that the work of the Secretariat shall reflect a truly international approach, senior personnel are recruited on a broad geographical basis for their technical expertise in the fields required by the work at ICAO. In addition to the regular staff, the services of experts are obtained from time to time by loan or secondment from member states or other international organizations. Clerical or secretarial employees are generally recruited locally in the area where the Organization has offices.


ICAO Headquarters are located in Montréal, Canada, whereas the seven regional offices are located as follows:

  1. Bangkok – Asia & Pacific Office. During its 197th Session, on 5 November 2012, the Council endorsed the Secretary General’s recommendation that an APAC Regional Sub-Office be established in China; it was inaugurated at Beijing on 26 June 2013.
  2. Cairo – Middle East Office;
  3. Dakar – Western & Central African Office;
  4. Lima – South American Office;
  5. Mexico – North American, Central American & Caribbean Office;
  6. Nairobi – Eastern & Southern African Office; and
  7. Paris – European & North Atlantic Office.


The postmark on the above cover, sent to the Secretariat of ICAO, is dated 27 July 1956; it still shows the characteristics of the French Protectorate, while Morocco's independence was proclaimed on 2 March 1956; Empire Cherifien is the old name, in French, for the Kingdom of Morocco before its independence.

After winning independence in 1956, stamps with the name Maroc, issued before the independence (in the above example: in July 1955), remained in circulation for some time thereafter.


Service cover sent by the Österreichische Liga für die Vereinten Nationen to ICAO.

Cancel dated 26 January 1966.

The Austrian League for the United Nations was founded in 1945 in direct relationship with the United Nations itself as an interface between the UN and the Austrian population. Over the years, this League organized a variety of activities, such as lectures, exhibitions, concerts, tours, etc.

In 2008, it merged with the Austrian Association for Foreign Policy and International Relations (Österreichischen Gesellschaft für Außenpolitik und Internationale Beziehungen) to form the Foreign Policy and United Nations Association of Austria (Österreichische Gesellschaft für Außenpolitik und die Vereinten Nationen, ÖGAVN).

Commercial cover sent in 1993 from the Slovak Airport of Letisko-Bratislava to the ICAO Secretariat.