Netherlands Antilles : 40th Anniversary of ICAO


Issue date: 28/02/1984



Winair (WIA) and ICAO emblem.


ICAO 40th anniversary emblem.


Antillean Air Company ALM (Antillianse Luchtvaart Maatschappij) and ICAO emblem.



Fokker†F.XVIII PH‑AIS Snip and ICAO emblem.


Monochrome photo proofs.



Presentation folder of this issue (Front and Back).



First Day Cover #E164 issued by the Netherlands Antilles Post Office. Note that the design of this cover is quite similar to the one depicted by the first day cover produced by Suriname for the 40th anniversary of ICAO on 16 May 1984 (see at the following link: Suriname - 40th Anniversary of ICAO).


First Day Cover #SE162 with spelling error in the word Organization (is written Organisation).


Background: The country of Netherlands Antilles consists of five islands in the Caribbean: Curacao, Bonaire, Sint Maarten, Sint Eustachius, Saba. It is an autonomous territory in the Kingdom of the Netherlands since 1954. Before 1986, Aruba was also a part of the Netherlands Antilles.

Used on the presentation folder, the flag of the Netherlands Antilles is white in proportions 2:3, on the center of the length a red vertical stripe, and on the center of the height a blue horizontal stripe across the red stripe. On the center of the blue stripe are five white five pointed stars. The colors red, white and blue refer to the Dutch flag; the five stars symbolize the five islands.