Bhutan : 40th Anniversary of the United Nations


Issue date: 24/10/1985


Souvenir sheet showing the Preamble to the United Nations Charter; has bright blue margins picturing the emblems (in black) of the UN Organizations (omnibus issue).

List of emblems surrounding the central stamp (from left down to right up):

-        FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization);

-        ILO (International Labour Organization);

-        ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organization);

-        UPU (Universal Postal Union);

-        WHO (World Health Organization);

-        IMCO (In 1982, this Agency changed its name from Inter-Governmental Maritime Consultative Organization (IMCO) to International Maritime Organization (IMO), while maintaining the emblem of IMCO);

-        WMO (World Meteorological Organization);

-        UNICEF (United Nations Children’s Fund);

-        UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization);

-        ITU (International Telecommunication Union);

-        IMF (International Monetary Fund);

-        IBRD (International Bank for Reconstruction and Development, also known as the World Bank).



Chromalin proof.

Background: Three stamps were also issued at the same time as this souvenir sheet to commemorate the 40th anniversary of the United Nations.

After the Security Council unanimously voted on 9 February 1971 to recommend the Himalayan Kingdom of Bhutan to become a member nation of the UN, Bhutan became the 128th member of the United Nations on 21 September 1971 (as noted on the souvenir sheet).

This country became a member of ICAO on 17 May 1989.