

International Civil Aviation Organization African Flight Procedure Programme

Eighth Meeting of the African Flight Procedure Programme Steering Committee (Dar Es Salam, 23 - 24 August 2022)

Agenda item2: Election of the steering committee chairpersons2.2: Election of the chairperson and vice-chairperson

(Presented by the Secretariat)

SUMMARY

This working paper recalls the composition of the steering committee, the conditions for the validity of its deliberations, the conduct of the meeting and the voting rights.

Action by Steering Committee is indicated in section 3

REFERENCES

• AFPP Phase II Programme Document

Related ICAO Strategic Objective(s):

- Air navigation Capacity and Efficiency
- Safety
- Environmental protection

1. **INTRODUCTION**

- 1.1. In accordance with the Programme Document, the participating members of the AFPP consist of active members, users, observers, donors and the Host Administration.
- 1.2. This document recalls the governance mechanism of the Programme in order to decide on the validity of the current meeting.

2. **DISCUSSION**

- 2.1 In accordance with the institutional framework (Section 5.5) stated in the Programme Document, the members of the Steering Committee consist of one representative from:
 - Each active member;
 - The host administration;
 - Each Donor;
 - The African Civil Aviation Commission (AFCAC);
 - EUR/NAT and MID ICAO Regional Offices if at least one of their accredited State is an AFPP active member;

- One representative of the ICAO Technical Cooperation Bureau (TCB) as facilitator/Observer;
- One representative of the ICAO Air Navigation Bureau (ANB) as facilitator/Observer.
- 2.2 The above-mentioned donors exclude the host administration and the active members who are also donors.
- 2.3 The meeting shall be conducted at least once a year and consists of "at least of a third of Members of the Steering Committee including either the Chairperson or the Vice-Chairperson and ICAO".
- 2.4 The meeting is chaired by either the chairperson or the vice-chairperson. The chairpersons are elected from different African active members for a duration of a phase of the Programme. Captain Gilbert Kibe (Kenya CAA) and Mr Sinaly Silué (Côte d'Ivoire CAA) chaired Phase II that is ending imminently.
- 2.5 It should be noted that each Active member, Donor and AFCAC have one vote. However, active members and donors cannot vote if they have not honored their committed contributions. French DGAC and Airbus are the concerned donors.

3 ACTION BY THE MEETING

- 3.1 The meeting is invited to:
 - a) Take note of the composition of the steering committee and the voting rights;
 - b) Consider the validity of the meeting with regards to the quorum;
 - c) Congratulate Kenya and Côte d'Ivoire for having accepted to support and chaired the Programme;
 - d) Proceed to the election of the new chairpersons

./.