Nine states earn special ICAO Council President recognition of their aviation safety and security oversight achievements

At the 41st ICAO Assembly, the President of the ICAO Council, Salvatore Sciacchitano (fourth from left presented Council President Certificates to representatives of Côte D’Ivoire, Ethiopia, Fiji, Honduras, Serbia, Slovenia, Tunisia and Ukraine in recognition of their States establishing effective aviation safety and/or security oversight systems. The ceremony was attended by the Minister of Aviation of Nigeria, Senator Hadi Abubakarar Sirika (centre), in light of the country’s achievement of one of the highest levels of effective implementation of ICAO safety and security standards in the world

Montréal, 29 September 2022 – During the opening ceremony of the ICAO 41st Assembly this week, ICAO Council President Salvatore Sciacchitano recognized nine States’ significant progress in improving safety and security oversight systems by awarding them with Council President Certificates. 

These Certificates are awarded on the basis of the outcomes of ICAO’s Universal Safety and Security Oversight Audit Programmes, which pertain to the effective implementation of ICAO Standards and Recommended Practices (SARPs) in these areas. 

At this year’s ceremony, ICAO presented Ethiopia, Fiji, Honduras, Slovenia, and Ukraine with certificates for their safety progress, while Serbia, and Tunisia were recognized for their achievements in regard to aviation security. Côte D’Ivoire received certificates for its progress in both aviation safety and aviation security.

The President of the Council also took the opportunity to acknowledge Nigeria’s exceptional level of effective implementation of ICAO safety and security standards, one of the highest in the world, reflecting the organization’s “No Country Left Behind” initiative, with the ICAO support provided to States for the implementation of ICAO policies, global plans and SARPs.

The effective implementation of ICAO’s global Standards and Recommended Practices by States is key to the optimization and alignment of the 193 regulatory frameworks that govern international civil aviation. This in turn is critical to the safety and security of global aviation, which underpin its ability to act as a catalyst for sustainable development worldwide.

While normally issued annually, the presentation of these certificates was interrupted along with the rest of global aviation due to the pandemic. The 2022 ceremony therefore represented the reinstatement of this important global recognition programme.
Resources for Editors

About ICAO
The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) is a United Nations agency which helps 193 countries to cooperate together and share their skies to their mutual benefit. 

Since it was established in 1944, ICAO’s support and coordination has helped countries to diplomatically and technically realize a uniquely rapid and dependable network of global air mobility, connecting families, cultures, and businesses all over the world, and promoting sustainable growth and socio-economic prosperity wherever aircraft fly.

As it enters a new era of digitization, and of incredible new flight and propulsion innovations, air transport is relying more than ever on ICAO’s expert support and technical and diplomatic guidance to help chart a new and exciting future for international flight. ICAO is innovating itself to answer this call, and expanding its partnerships among UN and technical stakeholders to deliver a strategic global vision and effective, sustainable solutions.

General Contact
Twitter: @ICAO

Media Contact
William Raillant-Clark
Communications Officer 
+1 514-954-6705
+1 514-409-0705 (mobile)

Connect with us: