ICAO Secretary General Raymond Benjamin Named Air Transport News Leader of the Year

MONTRÉAL, 18 March 2013 – The Secretary General of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), Mr. Raymond Benjamin, was presented yesterday with the Leader of the Year Award by Air Transport News (ATN) evening at its gala award ceremony and dinner.


ATN presents annual awards in 17 categories specific to the air transport sector. This year’s award dinner was held in Montréal to coincide with the influx of air transport CEOs and officials on the eve of ICAO’s Sixth Worldwide Air Transport Conference (ATConf/6).


“It is a great honour to have been considered for this award, given the many leaders in the international aviation community who bring such tremendous levels of vision and determination to their organizations,” Benjamin acknowledged. He went on to stress that ICAO is only as successful as the parties it supports and brings together, and that he was very much looking forward to the sustainable economic solutions they would be forging at the Organization’s Sixth Air Transport Conference.


“I would like to accept this award not so much on my own behalf, but rather in acknowledgement of the dedicated Council Members, Commissioners, Secretariat staff and experts from Member States and many others who have helped ICAO become a more dynamic driver of air transport progress in recent years,” Benjamin concluded.


The other winners recognized by ATN and its 2013 gala event were:


​Regional Aircraft Manufacturer of the Year: ​Bombardier
​Aircraft Manufacturer of the Year: ​Airbus
​Engine Manufacturer of the Year: ​Rolls-Royce
​Ground Handler of the Year: ​Çelebi Holding
​IT Company of the Year: ​SITA
​MRO Company of the Year: ​Lufthansa Technik
​Airline Alliance of the Year: ​Star Alliance
​Airport of the Year under 10 Million Passengers: ​Rajiv Gandhi International Airport
​Airport of the Year 10-30 Million Passengers: ​Genève Aéroport
​Airport of the Year: ​Istanbul Ataturk Airport
​Cargo Airline of the Year: ​FedEx
​Regional Airline of the Year: ​SilkAir
​Low Cost Airline of the Year: ​AirAsia
​Airline of the Year: ​Turkish Airlines
​George Iatrou Lifetime Achievement Award: ​Professor Tae Oum, President, ATRS
​Woman of the Year: ​Angela Gittens, Director General, ACI
Share this page: