ICAO Council recognizes 28 States for exemplary commitment and progress in aviation safety and security

​During the opening ceremonies of ICAO’s 40th Assembly, States representing all ICAO Regions received Council President Certificates in recognition of significant progress in resolving safety oversight and security deficiencies, and improving the effective implementation of ICAO Standards and Recommended Practices. Recipient States for their 2018 performance are shown above with ICAO’s Council President, Dr. Olumuyiwa Benard Aliu (centre left), and the UN Agency’s Secretary General, Dr. Fang Liu (centre).

Montréal, 29 September 2019 – During the opening ceremonies of its 40th Assembly this week, ICAO Council President Dr. Olumuyiwa Benard Aliu presented 28 States from all ICAO regions with Council President Certificates. 

The Certificates were established to recognize the States’ significant progress in resolving safety oversight and security deficiencies, and in improving the effective implementation of ICAO Standards and Recommended Practices as identified through related ICAO audit programmes. Based on their achievements in 2018, the following 16 States were recognized by the ICAO Council at this year’s ceremony for their safety progress: 

1) Azerbaijan 

2) Bahrain 

3) Gabon 

4) Georgia 

5) Ghana 

6) Guatemala 

7) India 

8) Mauritania 

9) Montenegro 

10) Mozambique 

11) Myanmar 

12) Papua New Guinea 

13) Peru 

14) Qatar 

15) Serbia 

16) The Congo 

In the area of Aviation Security, the 17 States recognized by the Council in 2019 were: 


1) Bahrain 

2) Croatia 

3) Dominican Republic 

4) Georgia 

5) Ghana 

6) Jamaica 

7) Kazakhstan 

8) Kenya 

9) Maldives 

10) Mauritania 

11) Namibia 

12) Nigeria 

13) Qatar 

14) Rwanda 

15) Trinidad and Tobago 

16) Turkey 

17) Uganda 

“These awards, established by the ICAO Council in support of our ongoing No Country Left Behind initiative, have been developed in order to more publicly acknowledge and encourage States’ commitment and progress in making our global network even safer and more secure than it is today,” commented Council President Aliu. 

The effective implementation of ICAO’s global Standards and Recommended Practices is considered a fundamental prerequisite today for establishing air transport’s rapid global connectivity, and in turn the many socio-economic benefits it helps to realize. 

Resources for Editors 

About ICAO 

A specialized agency of the United Nations, ICAO was created in 1944 to promote the safe and orderly development of international civil aviation throughout the world. It sets standards and regulations necessary for aviation safety, security, efficiency, capacity and environmental protection, amongst many other priorities. The Organization serves as the forum for cooperation in all fields of civil aviation among its 193 Member States. 

The ICAO No Country Left Behind initiative 


Anthony Philbin 

Chief, Communications 


+1 (514) 954-8220 

+1 (438) 402-8886 (mobile) 

Twitter: @ICAO 

William Raillant-Clark 

Communications Officer 


+1 514-954-6705 

+1 514 409-0705 

Twitter: @wraillantclark


Connect with us: