ICAO Assembly elects new Council for three-year term

Montréal, 1 October 2019 – The 40th Session of the Assembly of the International Civil Aviation Organization completed the election of its new Council today. The 36-member Council is the governing body of the Organization and is elected for a three-year term.

The election process was divided into three parts, with the following States elected:

PART I - States of chief importance in air transport
Australia*, Brazil*, Canada*, China*, France*, Germany*, Italy*, Japan*, Russian Federation*, United Kingdom*, and the United States*.

PART II - States which make the largest contribution to the provision of facilities for international civil air navigation
Argentina*, Colombia*, Egypt*, Finland, India*, Mexico*, Netherlands, Nigeria*, Saudi Arabia*, Singapore*, South Africa*, and Spain*.

PART III - States ensuring geographic representation
Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Greece, Malaysia*, Paraguay, Peru, Republic of Korea*, Sudan, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates*, Zambia.

*Indicates re-election.


Resources for Editors

About ICAO
A specialized agency of the United Nations, ICAO was created in 1944 to promote the safe and orderly development of international civil aviation throughout the world. It sets standards and regulations necessary for aviation safety, security, efficiency, capacity and environmental protection, amongst many other priorities. The Organization serves as the forum for cooperation in all fields of civil aviation among its 193 Member States.

How ICAO works
Convention on International Civil Aviation


Anthony Philbin
Chief, Communications
+1 (514) 954-8220
+1 (438) 402-8886 (mobile)
Twitter: @ICAO

William Raillant-Clark
Communications Officer
+1 514-954-6705
+1 514 409-0705
Twitter: @wraillantclark

Connect with us: