ICAO Assembly elects new Council for three-year term

Montréal, 4 October 2016 – The 39th Session of the Assembly of the International Civil Aviation Organization completed the election of its new Council today. The 36-member Council is the governing body of the Organization and is elected for a three-year term.

The election process was divided into three parts, with the following States elected:

PART I - States of chief importance in air transport
Australia*, Brazil*, Canada*, China*, France*, Germany*, Italy*, Japan*, Russian Federation*,
United Kingdom*, and the United States*.

PART II - States which make the largest contribution to the provision of facilities for international civil air navigation
Argentina*, Colombia, Egypt*, India*, Ireland, Mexico*, Nigeria*, Saudi Arabia*, Singapore*,
South Africa*, Spain* and Sweden.

PART III - States ensuring geographic representation
Algeria, Cabo Verde, Congo, Cuba, Ecuador, Kenya*, Malaysia*, Panama, Republic of Korea*, Turkey, United Arab Emirates*, United Republic of Tanzania*, and Uruguay.
*Indicates re-election.


Resources for Editors


How ICAO works
Convention on International Civil Aviation



Anthony Philbin
Chief, Communications
+1 (514) 954-8220
+1 (438) 402-8886 (mobile)
Twitter: @ICAO

William Raillant-Clark
Communications Officer
+1 514-954-6705
+1 514 409-0705
Twitter: @wraillantclark

Share this page: