CONVENTION ON DAMAGE CAUSED BY FOREIGN AIRCRAFT TO THIRD PARTIES ON THE SURFACE SIGNED AT ROME ON 7 OCTOBER 1952

Entry into force: The Convention entered into force on 4 February 1958.

Status: 51 Parties.

State	Date of signature	Date of deposit of instrument of ratification or adherence	Effective date
Algeria		13 April 1964	12 July 1964
Angola		24 February 1998	25 May 1998
Argentina	7 October 1952	26 September 1972	25 December 1972
Azerbaijan	, 5000001 1702	23 March 2000	21 June 2000
Bahrain		3 March 1997	1 June 1997
Belgium	7 October 1952	11 August 1966	9 November 1966
Benin		30 March 2004	28 June 2004
Bolivia (Plurinational State of)		9 July 1998	7 October 1998
Brazil	7 October 1952	19 December 1962	19 March 1963
Cameroon		23 July 1969	21 October 1969
Cuba		8 September 1965	7 December 1965
Denmark	7 October 1952	•	
Dominican Republic	7 October 1952		
Ecuador		12 May 1958	10 August 1958
Egypt	7 October 1952	23 February 1954	4 February 1958
El Salvador		13 February 1980	13 May 1980
France	7 October 1952		
Gabon		14 January 1970	14 April 1970
Gambia		20 June 2000	18 September 2000
Ghana		4 June 2018	2 September 2018
Greece	5 April 1955		
Guatemala		10 May 1983	8 August 1983
Guinea		28 May 1990	26 August 1990
Haiti		24 March 1961	22 June 1961
Honduras		5 October 1960	3 January 1961
India	2 August 1955		
Iraq		19 July 1972	17 October 1972
Israel	7 October 1952		
Italy	7 October 1952	10 October 1963	8 January 1964
Kenya		5 July 1999	3 October 1999
Kuwait (1)		27 November 1979	25 February 1980
Lebanon	7. 0 1 10 70	27 February 2007	28 May 2007
Liberia	7 October 1952		
Libya	11 August 1954	10.51	4.77.1
Luxembourg	7 October 1952	19 February 1957	4 February 1958
Madagascar		28 December 2006	28 March 2007
Maldives		5 September 1995	4 December 1995
Mali		28 December 1961	28 March 1962
Mauritania	7 October 1050	23 July 1962	21 October 1962
Mexico Mexico	7 October 1952	21 March 1064	20 June 1064
Morocco Notherlands	7 October 1952	31 March 1964	29 June 1964
Netherlands	/ October 1952	27 December 1962	27 March 1062
Niger	10 Dagambar 1054	21 December 1902	27 March 1963
Norway	10 December 1954		

		Date of deposit of instrument of	
State	Date of signature	ratification or adherence	Effective date
Oman		6 August 2003	4 November 2003
Pakistan	25 February 1957	6 November 1957	4 February 1958
Papua New Guinea (2)		15 December 1975	16 September 1975
Paraguay		26 May 1969	24 August 1969
Philippines	7 October 1952		
Portugal	7 October 1952		
Republic of Moldova		31 October 2000	29 January 2001
Russian Federation (3)		21 April 1982	20 July 1982
Rwanda		17 May 1971	15 August 1971
Seychelles		15 September 1980	14 December 1980
Spain	7 October 1952	1 March 1957	4 February 1958
Sri Lanka		31 March 1959	29 June 1959
Suriname		27 March 2003	25 June 2003
Sweden	11 August 1954		
Switzerland	7 October 1952		
Thailand	7 October 1952		
Togo		2 July 1980	30 September 1980
Tunisia		16 September 1963	15 December 1963
Uganda		28 November 2017	26 February 2018
United Arab Emirates		12 February 1990	13 May 1990
United Kingdom	23 April 1953		
Uruguay		8 November 1978	6 February 1979
Vanuatu		15 January 1982	15 April 1982
Yemen		26 September 1986	25 December 1986

- Notes: Canada signed the Convention on 26 May 1954 and ratified it on 16 January 1956. On 29 June 1976, a notification of denunciation of the Convention by the Government of Canada was received by the International Civil Aviation Organization, which took effect on 29 December 1976.
 - Australia signed the Convention on 20 October 1953 and ratified it on 10 November 1958. On 8 May 2000, a notification of denunciation of the Convention by the Government of Australia was received by the International Civil Aviation Organization, which took effect on 8 November 2000.
 - Nigeria adhered to the Convention on 6 March 1970. On 10 May 2002, an instrument of denunciation of the Convention by the Government of Nigeria was received by the International Civil Aviation Organization, which took effect on 10 November 2002.
- It is understood that the adherence to the Convention on Damage Caused by Foreign Aircraft to Third Parties (1) on the Surface done in Rome, 1952, does not mean in any way recognition of Israel by the State of Kuwait. Furthermore, no treaty relation will arise between the State of Kuwait and Israel.
- On 15 December 1975, a declaration dated 6 November 1975 was deposited with the International Civil (2) Aviation Organization by the Government of Papua New Guinea indicating that Papua New Guinea desired to be treated as a party in its own right to the Rome Convention, which had entered into force for Australia on 8 February 1959 and had applied to the Territory of Papua and Trust Territory of New Guinea. Papua New Guinea attained independence on 16 September 1975.
- (3) Declaration dated 22 February 1982 by the Government of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (now the Russian Federation) that "the provisions of Articles 30, 36 and 37 of the Convention on Damage Caused by Foreign Aircraft to Third Parties on the Surface, dated 7 October 1952, which have the effect of extending the applicability of the Convention to territories for the foreign relations of which a contracting State is responsible, are obsolete and in conflict with the Declaration of the United Nations General Assembly on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples (Resolution 1514/XV of 14 December 1960)".