United Nations : World Intellectual Property Organization


Issue date: 11/03/1977


World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) and United Nations (UN) specialized Agencies postage stamps are reproduced on this souvenir card. The descriptive text indicates WIPO’s mission. Facsimile signature of the Secretary General, Kurt Waldheim.


Background: WIPO was established by the signing of the WIPO Convention (or Convention Establishing the World Intellectual Property Organization) at Stockholm, Sweden on 14 July 1967 with a mandate from its Members States to promote the protection of international intellectual property throughout the world through cooperation among states and in collaboration with other international organizations. On April 26 1970, following the entry into force of the Convention on the World Intellectual Property Organization, WIPO officially succeeded the Bureaux Internationaux Réunis pour la Protection de la Propriété Intellectuelle (BIRPI, set up in 1893 to administer the Paris Convention for the Protection of Intellectual Property of 20 March 1883 and the Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works of 9 September 1886). WIPO headquarters are in Geneva, Switzerland. In 1974, WIPO became a specialized agency of the United Nations (UN) system of organizations. The year 1977 marks the 10th anniversary of the signing of the WIPO Convention.

The souvenir card shows a reproduction of the following stamps:

1.     The three commemorative stamps issued by the UN on 11 March 1977, showing WIPO’s Headquarters building in Geneva;

2.     Other commemorative stamps issued by the UN relate to: UPU (1953), FAO (1954), ILO (1954), ICAO (1955), UNESCO (1955), ITU (1956), WHO (1956), WMO (1957), IAEA (1958), IBRD (1960), IMF (1961), IMCO (1964).