ICAO and the International Telecommunication Union


ITU Logo

With headquarters in Geneva, the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) or Union internationale des tÚlÚcommunications (UIT) is the eldest organization in the United Nations UN family still in existence. It was founded as the International Telegraph Union in Paris on 17 May 1865 and is today the leading UN agency for information and communication technology issues, and the global focal point for governments and the private sector in developing networks and services. For more than 140 years, ITU has coordinated the shared global use of the radio spectrum, promoted international cooperation in assigning satellite orbits, worked to improve telecommunication infrastructure in the developing world, established the worldwide standards that foster seamless interconnection of a vast range of communications systems and addressed the global challenges of our times.


Annex 10

With ITU's leadership in the creation of international telecommunications networks and standards, close coordination has been assured between ICAO and ITU for the development of certain parts of Annex 10 Aeronautical Telecommunications, so as to align ICAO standards, recommended practices and procedures, and guidance material with the relevant provisions of ITU. This Annex 10 covers three of the most complex and essential elements of international civil aviation. i.e. aeronautical communications, navigation and surveillance. Annex 10 is divided into five volumes:

- Volume I: Radio Navigation Aids.

- Volume II: Communication Procedures.

- Volume III: Communication Systems.

- Volume IV: Surveillance Radar and Collision Avoidance

- Volume V: Aeronautical Radio Frequency Spectrum Utilization.



Service cover sent by ITU to ICAO Secretary General

Postmarked 20 February 1962


Service cover sent by ITU to ICAO Chief of Personnel Branch

Postmarked 25 September 1970 - UIT/ITU Slogan