ICAO Technical Advisory Group on Machine Readable Travel Documents

The ICAO MRTD Programme is supported by the Technical Advisory Group on Machine Readable Travel Documents (TAG/MRTD), which is an advisory group appointed by the ICAO Secretary General. The TAG/MRTD consists of government and private sector experts, and exercises a dual function within the MRTD Programme: it (i) establishes policy recommendations and proposals, and (ii) develops, establishes and maintains MRTD standards and specifications.
The TAG/MRTD also supports the ICAO Secretariat work through its two working groups:
  • The New Technologies Working Group (NTWG): responsible for research, analysis and reporting on new technologies available today or in the future for use in MRTDs, including the development of MRTD specifications contained in Document 9303; and
  • The Implementation and Capacity Building Working Group (ICBWG): assists the Secretariat and its international and regional partners in implementing all the education, promotion, assistance and capacity building demands channelled through the ICAO Secretariat.


Terms of reference. The TAG/MRTD is appointed by the Secretariat, which reports on its progress to the Air Transport Committee. The TAG/MRTD develops specifications for machine readable passports, visas and official travel documents and guidance material to assist States in implementing these specifications and exploiting modern techniques in inspection systems.


TAG/MRTD Members and Observers
Mr. A.Moores, Australia
Ms. H.Richardson, Canada
Ms. M.Cabello, Chile
Mr. X.Wang, People’s Republic of China
Mr. M.Vacek, Czech Republic
Ms. P.Moutafian, France
Mr. O.Götz, Germany
Mr. B.Swaminathan, India
Mr. J.Nugent, Ireland
Mr. Y.Ando, Japan
Ms. G.M.Keijzer-Baldé, Netherlands
Mr. D.Philp, New Zealand
Mr. J.Wariya, Nigeria
TBC, Portugal
TBC, Russian Federation
Mr. S.Danielsson, Sweden
Mr. R.Vanek, Switzerland
Mr. A.Brown, United Kingdom
Mr. M.Holly, United States



Observer organizations:
Airports Council International (ACI)
European Union (EU)
International Air Transport Association (IATA)
International Criminal Police Organization (INTERPOL)
International Labour Organization (ILO)
International Organization for Migration (IOM)
International Organization for Standardization (ISO)


Organization of American States (OAS) – Inter-American Committee on Terrorism (CICTE)
Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE)


United Nations (UN)
Secretary: Mr. Mauricio Siciliano, MRTD Officer
First meeting held: 16-20 January 1986
Most recent meeting held: TAG/22, 21-23 May 2014
Next meeting: TAG/23, date TBC
Becoming a TAG/MRTD member. An interested government agency is requested to send a formal nomination letter addressed to the ICAO Secretary General. An Attachment is to include the name and Curriculum Vitae of the expert whom you are nominating as a Member of the TAG/MRTD. 



​ ​​